Eri Hashino
Ruth C Holton Professor

Eri is an Auditory Neuroscientist with more than 20 years of experience in studying development and regeneration of the inner ear.   She has broad research experience in cellular, molecular, developmental and behavioral neurosciences.              

Jing Nie
Assistant Research Professor

Jing joined the lab after receiving his PhD in Biology from Indiana University.  He is a developmental biologist with a strong interest in biotechnology.  He has extensive experience in CRISPR/Cas9 genome editing technology and is currently working on the CHARGE syndrome project. 

Mahboubeh Jafarkhani
Post-Doc Fellow

Maha joined the lab after obtaining her PhD in chemical engineering from University of Tehran.  She is currently studying the role for mechanical stimulation in organoid development and hair cell differentiation, using novel biomimetic hydrogels.    

Nelson 3.jpg
Rick Nelson
Associate Professor

Rick is a surgeon-investigator pursuing his independent research in the lab.  His current research is focused on elucidating the mechanisms underlying hair cell degeneration caused by mutations in TMPRSS3, using stem cell technology and genomics.    

Jeffery Chen
Post-Doc Fellow

Jeffery is a Post-doc fellow in the Nelson group with a PhD degree in Pharmacology/Toxicology from the National Defense Medical Center in Taiwan.  He is currently studying the mechanisms underlying TMPRSS3-mediated hair cell degeneration using both mouse and human organoid model systems. 

Yoshitomo Ueda
Post-Doc Fellow

Yoshi is a cellular neuroscientist with research experience in perinatal brain development.  His research interests lie in recapitulating neurodevelopmental disorders with human pluripotent stem cells in 3D culture.  In particular, he is interested in CHARGE syndrome and Down syndrome. 

Manikandan Mayakannon
Post-Doc Fellow

Coming Soon

Shweta Reddy
PhD Student

Shweta is a 2nd-year PhD student in the Medical Neuroscience graduate program.  She is pursuing a project on the development and degeneration of ribbon synapses in human inner ear organoids, using both light- and electron-microscopic approaches

Alex Solivais
Research Technician

Alex recently joined the lab after receiving his Bachelor's degree in Biochemistry from Indiana University.  He is working on to develop new bioinformatic tools for single-cell RNA-seq data and also establishing a transgenic stem cell line to be used for disease modeling.   

Ernesto Cabrera
Research Technician

Ernesto recently joined the lab after receiving his Bachelor's degree in Biochemistry from Earlham College.  He is the lab manager for Rick Nelson's group and is getting proficient with 3D culture and fluorescence and confocal microscopy.  

Stephen Moore
Research Technician

Stephen joined the lab after receiving his Bachelor's degree in Chemistry from Indiana University.  He is currently generating and characterizing human otic progenitor reporter stem cell lines as well as testing several signaling pathways in hair cell differentiation.   

John Hoffman
Research Technician

Coming soon

Takashi Nakamura
Visiting Res. Scientist

Takashi is a neurotologist trained in Japan.  He has extensive research experience in molecular/cellular biology, and is currently working on a project to determine a signaling pathway for cochlear lineage specification during inner ear organoid development. 

Research Assistant

Coming soon.

Previous Members

Daniel Romano (MD Student): Resident physician - Otolaryngology-HNS, Washington University

Pei-Ciao Tang (Res. Assistant Professor): Research Scientist, Univ. Miami Medical School

Jade Harkin (Research Associate):  PhD student, IUSM

Emma Longworth-Mills (PhD Student):  Author (

Alpha Alex (Research Associate): Returned to Northern Ireland

Rachel DeJonge (MS Student)

Sreeparna Mjumdar (PhD Student); Post-Doc Fellow, IUSM

Chris Deig (MD Student): Resident physician - Radiation Medicine, Oregon Health Sciences University

Andrew Mikosz (Research Technician): Scientist, The New York Stem Cell Foundation Research Institute 

Dharmesh Patel (Post-Doc Fellow): Industry

Alhason Elghouch (MD/MS Student): Resident physician - Otolaryngology-HNS,  IUSM

Karl Koehler (PhD Student):  Assistant Professor, Boston Children's Hospital/ Harvard Medical School

Alexander Malone (MD Student): Resident physician - Otolaryngology-HNS, University of South Florida

Emily Beans (Research Technician): MD student, IUSM

Akihiro Matsuoka (Research-Track Resident):  Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology, Northwestern University

Atsushi Shimomura (Post-Doc Fellow): Professor at Hokkaido Health Sciences University

David Zopf (MD Student): Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology, University of Michigan Medical School

Takako Kondo (Post-Doc Fellow): Professor, Nagoya Woman's University